Changes in Leadership for Maryland 2022 Session

The Maryland House of Delegates will have a new look this year as the Economic Matters and Ways & Means Committees, two of the six standing House committees, have new leadership.

Delegate Vanessa Atterbeary, the former Vice Chair of the Judiciary Committee, has taken the reigns as the Chair of Ways and Means. The Ways and Means Committee has jurisdiction over tax policy and a significant portfolio of education matters, and we are eager to see the approach of the new Chair. She replaces Former Chair Anne Kaiser who will not be seeking re-election to assume a leadership role at the University of Maryland.

There is a great deal of change in the Economic Matters Committee following the departure of Chairman Dereck Davis, the newly elected State Treasurer, and Vice Chair Kathleen Dumais after her appointment to a judgeship. Delegate CT Wilson, an attorney by trade, assumed the chairmanship while Delegate Brian Crosby was named Vice Chair. Both delegates were members of the Economic Matters Committee and have a rich understanding of the myriad issues the committee handles, including energy and labor policy.

We look forward to working with our clients as they work with these new leaders. Additionally, more change is incoming as current Appropriations Committee Chair, Maggie McIntosh, and Health and Government Operations Committee Chair, Shane Pendergrass will be retiring at the end of this session.

Ready to Begin?
Let’s Chat
Contact Us
Website by WHITE64